MVR (Driving Records)

State Information Reported Years Reported
 Alaska

Records released to permissible users contain the residence, mailing address, height, weight and DOB, but no the SSN. Alaska reports all convictions except parking violations. Accidents are not reported unless action is taken, and then only specific action taken on the license is shown on the MVR.Alaska reports no unique state violations.Alaska does not permit driver school attendance in lieu of conviction.

 

Minor Moving Violations

3 years

Major offenses (reckless driving, hit-and-run, etc…)

5 years

Suspensions

3 years from ending date
 California

Hit and Run, Reckless driving, and DUI

7 years from violation date

Other convictions and accidents

3 years from violation date

Actions (Suspensions, Revocation, FRA)

3 years from violation date

Failure to Appear for DUI offense

10 years from violation date
 Colorado

All activities are on record for 7 years

 Connecticut

Moving Violations

3 years

DUI, Evading Responsibility, Driving Under Suspension

10 years
Suspensions Indefinite, until restored.
 District of Columbia (DC) All convictions with points are shown on the MVR, accidents will be listed if there is a conviction; however, fault in not shown. DC does not allow for driver school attendance in lieu of conviction.
Moving Violations 2 years
DWI 10 years
Suspensions/Revocations 5 years
State Information Reported Years Reported
  Florida Unlimited

Notice: Florida Unlimited records might contain information that is not permitted to be communicated to an end user such as non-conviction information older than 7 years. Much of the information contained in these records may not be FCRA compliant and may not be used for Employment purposes.

Moving Violations Unlimited
No-Contest Pleas Unlimited
Non-Guilty Violations Unlimited
DUI, Evading Responsibility, Driving Under Suspension Unlimited
Other convictions and accidents Unlimited
 Illinois Accidents 4 to 4 1/2 years from
date of conviction
(unless fatality, then 5 years)
Moving Violations 4 to 4 1/2 years from
date of conviction
DUI 7 years from termination date
Commercial Motor Vehicle Serious Violations
Driving Under the Influence 55 years past conviction date
Leaving the scene of an accident 55 years past conviction date
Felony Convictions 55 years past conviction date
CDL Drivers
Other serious convictions (any vehicle) 10 years past reinstatement date
Minor Convictions 3 years past conviction date
Accidents 10 years past accident date
Withdrawal Actions 55 years past withdrawal date or
3 years past reinstatement date
  Iowa

Non Moving Violations

3 years
Moving Violations 5 to 7 years (Unless CMV)
DWI 10 years
Suspensions If closed, 6 months to 12 years; if open, indefinite
State Information Reported Years Reported
 Kansas Accident 3 years from conviction date 
Moving Violations 5 years from conviction date
DWI Lifetime
Suspensions 3 to 5 years from conviction date
 Massachusetts

The driving record will show all reported in-state and out-of-state convictions dating back to the mid 1980's for a driver (who has been a MA resident since that time). Otherwise, the record will show convictions from the date after the mid 1980's that the person obtained a MA license.

 
 Missouri Accident Does not appear unless suspension/revocation action taken
Moving Violations 3 years
DWI Permanent
Suspensions 5 years after reinstatement
 Montana Seatbelt convictions are not listed on the driving record.
Accidents are not reported unless the damage is over $500 and a conviction is rendered
Traffic Convictions Points applied for three years
DUI (1st and 2nd Offense within 5 years) Points applied for three years
Suspensions Varies according to violation, ninety days to indefinite
Unsatisfied Judgment Six years
All traffic violations remain in the state database indefinitely. Surrendered licenses are purged from the computer system five years after the expiration date.
  New York

Driving records contain license class and status as well as a record of convictions, suspensions, and revocations. Most equipment violations (except inadequate brakes) and most non-moving violations are not reported on the driving record. Accidents are shown on the record, but fault is not shown. The state does not permit driver school attendance in lieu of conviction.

Moving Violations 3 years plus the current calendar year
DWIs and Serious Convictions 10 years
Suspensions Closed, four years from closure date; open, indefinitely
State Information Reported Years Reported
 Oregon
 Court Print
Convictions for major traffic offenses, commercial driver license entries, diversion agreements and alcohol rehabilitation entries At least 10 years
Convictions for minor offenses and accidents At least 5 years
Suspensions, cancellations, and revocations also are included 3 or 5 years

May contain miscellaneous administrative entries, multiple status entries and some out of state commercial entries.

Entries shown on court print may exceed time periods listed due to annual file purging scheduling.
 Texas Non Moving Violations Does not appear
Moving Violations 5 years
Suspensions 5 years
SR Judgment 11 years
 Utah Accidents Reported only if convicted for a moving violation
Moving Violations 3 years
Alcohol/Drug related violations 6 years
Mandatory Convictions in Commercial Vehicle 10 years
Withdrawals 3 years
 Virginia Moving Violations 3 years
Speeding 5 years
Reckless driving offenses 11 years
DWI 11 years
Suspensions 24 months from complied date
State Information Reported Years Reported
 Washington Employment Records. - Who can order? Employers and their agents, for the purposes of determining if a driver should be employed to operate a *commercial vehicle.
*"Commercial Vehicle" means any vehicle the principal use of which is the the transportation of commodities, merchandise, produce, freight, animals, or passengers for hire, as defined in Chapters RCW 46.04.140 and RCW 46.25.010(6).
Effective July 26, 2009, RCW 46.52.130 will allow for the request of an employment ADR for non-CDL holders, by an employer, prospective employer, volunteer organization, or an agent acting on behalf of an employer, prospective employer or volunteer organization. The ADR may be issued provided the person drives as a principle part of their job duties.
Moving Violations 5 years
Accidents 5 years
Accidents (Commercial Vehicles) 10 years
Commercial vehicle related convictions 55 years
Alcohol Related convictions 15 years
Suspensions, Revocations or disqualifications 5 years from
release date
Vehicular Assault, Deferred Prosecution Permanently
Insurance Records - Who can order? Insurance Carriers, Insurers and their agents, who use such information to create and/or renew insurance policies. Commercial Carriers/Insurers/Agents / Non-Commercial Carriers/Insurers/Agents / Life Carriers/Insurers/Agents
Convictions, Violations 3 years (Commercial, Non-commercial and Life records)
Accidents
Transit Records- Who can order? Employees or agents of a transit authority and/or volunteer organizations, to determine if a driver meets the insurance and risk management requirements necessary to drive a vanpool vehicle.  
Moving Violations 5 years
Accidents 5 years
Accidents (Commercial Vehicles) 10 years
Commercial vehicle related convictions 55 years
Alcohol Related convictions 15 years
Suspensions, Revocations or disqualifications 5 years from
release date
Vehicular Assault, Deferred Prosecution Permanently
State Information Reported Years Reported
 Wisconsin Moving violations suspensions/revocations 5 years from date of conviction
Alcohol-related or serious offense violations 55 years
Accidents 4 years from date of accident
Revocation based on damage judgment 20 years
Serious convictions and commercial motor vehicle disqualifying offenses 55 years
 Wyoming

Moving violations, uninsured accidents, compulsory insurance violations, administrative per se & refusals, nonresident violator compact violations, and proof of financial responsibility withdrawals.

3 years of history

Driving under the influence, reckless driving, accident judgements, vehicular homicide, leaving the scene of an injury accident, a felony which is a result of manner of driving, and transporting liquor to a minor convictions and withdrawals

5 years of history
Since July 1, 1989, accidents are only reported if the driver has no insurance.